4 South American countries submit joint bid


Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay formally submitted a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup on Tuesday, calling for the match to return “where football was born” 100 years after the primary World Cup was held in Montevideo.

During a ceremony on the Argentine Football Association (AFA), officers of the 4 countries had been joined by Alejandro Dominguez, president of the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL), who stated that he hopes FIFA can present a “gesture of greatness” towards the area and permit it to organise the match.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, extra (U.S.)

“The 2030 World Cup is not just another World Cup, it deserves a celebration with recognition for 100 years,” Dominguez stated.

“We are convinced that FIFA has an obligation to honour the memory of those who came before us and believed in greatness and made the first World Cup.”

AFA president Claudio Tapia added: “As world champions, we carry out this launch which is the dream of all South Americans. Not only on the centenary of the first edition, but because of the passion with which we live football.”

Argentina’s President Alberto Fernandez made a press release on his official Twitter account saying that Bolivia will probably be requested to hitch “this dream”.

After the primary version in Uruguay, Argentina hosted the World Cup in 1978 and Chile in 1962, whereas Paraguay has by no means hosted the game’s greatest competitors.

The South American bid will compete with Spain-Portugal, who’ve signed a joint bid settlement, plus attainable 2030 bids from Morocco and Saudi Arabia.


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button