CAC retains Chetan Sharma as chairman for senior men’s selection committee

The Booard of Control for Cricket in India’s Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape on Saturday beneficial Chetan Sharma as chairman of the India senior mens selection committee.

Sharma, who has 23 Test caps, had been holding the submit within the earlier selection committee since December 2020, when he changed Sunil Joshi within the position.

He had re-applied for a job within the selection committee when the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made an announcement for new purposes for a contemporary five-member panel on November 18, 2022.

In an official assertion, the BCCI knowledgeable that the CAC had shortlisted 11 people for private interviews after receiving 600 purposes for the 5 posts. Based on the interviews, the CAC has beneficial Sharma, Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola and Sridharan Sharath for being a part of the selection committee.

Das, the previous India men’s Test opener, was beforehand the batting coach of the Indian ladies’s cricket crew whereas Ankola, the ex-India quick bowler, is the present chief selector of the Mumbai men’s crew in home cricket.

Banerjee is a former India pacer who has additionally been the coach of quick bowler Umesh Yadav. Sharath, hailing from Tamil Nadu, is the present chairman of the Junior Men’s Selection Committee and underneath his panel, India gained U19 Men’s World Cup in West Indies in 2022.

The job of the brand new selection committee can be to select the squads for India’s white-ball sequence in opposition to New Zealand, set to occur later within the month.



(Only the headline and movie of this report could have been reworked by the Business Standard employees; the remainder of the content material is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button