Dortmund’s scored penalty ruled out after delayed VAR check


Borussia Dortmund midfielder Marcel Sabitzer was denied a hat trick on Saturday when his penalty kick in opposition to Borussia Monchengladbach was cancelled by the video assistant referee (VAR) after he had scored from it.

Referee Florian Badstübner awarded Dortmund the spot kick within the fiftieth minute of the sport with the workforce main 2-1, with Sabitzer stepping as much as coolly end his second penalty of the sport and third aim of the match.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, extra (U.S.)

However, as Sabitzer started to have a good time, Badstübner instantly made the VAR sign and ran to the pitchside monitor to check the choice, swiftly deciding to rule out the penalty and subsequent aim.

The penalty was initially awarded for a visit by Gladbach goalkeeper Jonas Omlin on Dortmund’s Karim Adeyemi, however the referee adjudged that Omlin touched the ball earlier than taking out Adeyemi.

Confusion reigned at Gladbach’s Borussia Park, with Dortmund supervisor Edin Terzić wanting significantly perplexed in dialog with the fourth official after the incident.

His workforce held on to win the sport 2-1, regardless of taking part in the ultimate 35 minutes with 10 males after Adeyemi’s second-half pink card.


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button