Hockey India names 23-member Indian men’s team for Australia tour


Experienced dragflicker Harmanpreet Singh will lead a 23-member Indian men’s hockey team within the upcoming tour of Australia, Hockey India mentioned on Tuesday.

India will play 5 matches in opposition to Australia, starting November 26 in Adelaide, as a part of their preparation for subsequent 12 months’s World Cup.

The FIH showpiece shall be held from January 13 to 29 in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela.

While Harmanpreet will lead the team, Amit Rohidas has been picked because the vice-captain for the upcoming matches.

“The upcoming tour to Australia is a good opportunity for us to test ourselves against one of the top contenders at the upcoming FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar-Rourkela 2023,” Indian hockey chief coach Graham Reid mentioned in a launch.

“We have picked a solid line of experienced players who we believe can help us in getting the desired results. We have also infused the team with a blend of youngsters to give them exposure of top-level competition and test the depth of our squad.”

In the ahead line, Mandeep Singh has been included together with Dilpreet Singh, Abhishek and Sukhjeet Singh.

Gurjant Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mohd. Raheel Mouseen, Rajkumar Pal, Nilakanta Sharma, Shamsher Singh, Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, and Sumit have been included within the midfield for the tour.

In defence, Varun Kumar makes a return to the team after lacking the FIH Pro League matches in opposition to New Zealand and Spain in Bhubaneswar.

Jarmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor, and Nilam Sanjeep Xess type the remaining backline.

Harmanpreet led the Indian team to twin wins over New Zealand within the latest FIH Pro League, whereas ending 1-1 in opposition to Spain within the double leg contest.

Indian Team:

Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran.

Defenders: Jarmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh (C), Amit Rohidas (V/C), Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Varun Kumar

Midfielders: Sumit, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, Mohd. Raheel Mouseen, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh, Sukhjeet Singh.

(Only the headline and movie of this report could have been reworked by the Business Standard employees; the remainder of the content material is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button