ICC Select Seven Venues In Caribbean To Host 2024 T20 World Cup

File photograph of T20 World Cup trophy© X (previously Twitter)


The ICC on Friday mentioned seven venues within the Caribbean and three cities of USA will co-host the following yr’s males’s T20 World Cup from June 4-30. The seven Caribbean venues shortlisted by the ICC are Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad & Tobago. Besides three locations within the USA — Dallas, Florida and New York will co-host the occasion. “We’re delighted to announce the seven Caribbean venues that will host the biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup ever staged, with 20 teams competing for the trophy. They’re all popular venues with players and fans alike that will provide a wonderful backdrop to the event,” ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice mentioned in a press release.

“This will be the third ICC senior men’s event hosted by the West Indies, and the matches will again give cricket fans the unique experience of enjoying cricket in the Caribbean. I’d like to thank Cricket West Indies and the seven host governments for their continued commitment and support of our sport.” Cricket West Indies CEO Johnny Grave mentioned: “This is an exciting moment as we announce the venues approved to host the largest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in history, with 20 teams playing in 55 matches in June next year.

“We are grateful to the host Governments of the Caribbean for his or her overwhelming responses and enthusiasm for internet hosting what would be the most vital sporting occasion held in our area for a era,” he said.

“We are assured that collectively we’ll ship a world-class event showcasing one of the best this area has to supply with our distinctive tradition and carnival environment that can guarantee there’s a actual celebration of the game subsequent June.”

Topics mentioned in this article

International Cricket Council Cricket

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button