“India’s Main Bowlers Were Afraid To Bowl Last Over In 2007 T20 World Cup Final”: Shoaib Malik


Ahead of the 2022 T20 World Cup last between Pakistan and England, which the latter gained by 5 wickets, star batter Shoaib Malik made a startling revelation, saying predominant bowlers of the Indian cricket staff had been afraid to bowl the ultimate over within the 2007 T20 World Cup summit conflict towards Pakistan. It is essential to notice that on the inaugural version of the T20 World Cup in 2007, and it was India that lifted the trophy after edging previous Pakistan within the last. In the final over of the sport, with Pakistan needing 13 runs and skipper Misbah-ul-Haq batting, then India captain MS Dhoni determined to present the ultimate over to Joginder Sharma.

“I will not take names. Each of India’s main bowlers had one over left. MS Dhoni asked everyone, but they refused to bowl the last over. They were afraid to bowl to Misbah-ul-Haq. He was hitting all over the ground. People always talk about that scoop shot by Misbah. I am telling you, If it was not the last wicket, he must have hit him down the ground. He had already hit Joginder for a big six in that over,” Malik said on A Sports’ show The Pavilion.

However, opposite to Malik’s declare, all senior Indian pacers like RP Singh, Irfan Pathan and Sreesanth had already bowled their full quota of 4 overs earlier than the twentieth and final over of the 2007 last. Only off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and Yusuf Pathan, who was additionally a spinner, had their overs left. Dhoni determined to present the ball to Joginder Sharma, a pacer as a substitute.

In the ultimate over, Pakistan wanted 13 runs to win, and Misbah had smashed the second ball for a six straight down the bottom. With the equation coming down to six off 4 balls, the right-handed batter Misbah opted to go for a scoop shot, however ended up giving a easy catch to Sreesanth who was positioned at quick fine-leg.

“That was the shot I was playing throughout the tournament. The plan was to get a boundary and then we will need one run to level the score; they will bring the field up and then I will finish the match,” recollected Misbah.

India have didn’t win the T20 World Cup after 2007 whereas Pakistan had gained the event in 2009 after defeating Sri Lanka within the last.

Topics talked about on this article


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button