Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup

The males’s discipline hockey match, generally known as the FIH World Cup, is a global occasion that’s held each 4 years. It began in 1971 and at the moment, there have been no on-line playing web sites the place gamblers enter through TonyBet login. Pakistan is the match’s most profitable group, having received 4 of the competitions it has participated in. The Netherlands, Australia, and Germany have additionally received a number of titles. India and Belgium have moreover received as soon as every.The occasion was held in India from November 28 to December 16. In 2018, Belgium received its first World Cup title after defeating the Netherlands in a penalty shoot-out. The match then expanded to 16 groups. 


The qualification stage for the World Cup has been a part of the occasion since 1977. Every group that takes half within the match performs in a round-robin match to find out which group they are going to be part of. The high two groups from every pool will routinely qualify for the World Cup finals.

Final match

In the ultimate match options the groups which have already certified. It additionally options the winners of the latest Summer Olympics’ hockey competitors. After the group stage, the groups are divided into swimming pools and play a round-robin sport. The composition of the teams is decided utilizing the present world rankings of the FIH.


Nur Khan, a Pakistani Air Force officer, proposed the thought of holding the World Cup to the International Hockey Federation. Patrick Rowley, the editor of World Hockey journal, was the primary particular person to introduce the idea to the group. 

Political points prevented the World Cup’s first competitors from being held in Pakistan. The occasion was scheduled to be held in Bangladesh through the nation’s Liberation War. When Pakistan invited India to take part within the match, a disaster occurred. The nation’s cricket star, Abdul Hafeez Kardar, criticized India’s participation.

Due to the political state of affairs between India and Pakistan, the FIH determined to not maintain the World Cup in Pakistan. Instead, it relocated the occasion to Spain. The FIH selected to carry the match on the Real Club de Polo in Barcelona. This was a impartial web site and was considered a peaceable European venue.

The FIH has no restrictions relating to the variety of nations that may take part within the match. In the previous, the World Cup featured solely ten groups. In 1978, the occasion featured 14 nations. Over the next years, the match featured 16 groups.

The first three tournaments of the World Cup had been carried out each two years. The occasion was held each 4 years till it was lastly expanded to 16 groups in 1978. The World Cup was held in 1978. It was midway via the Summer Olympics hockey match when it was expanded.

Source link

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button