Olympian Dilip Tirkey elected unopposed as new Hockey India president


Former India captain Dilip Tirkey, who was the front-runner for the submit of Hockey India president, was elected unopposed for the highest job on Friday.

Hockey India elections have been scheduled to be held on October 1 however the outcomes have been declared upfront as there have been no contestants for any of the posts, paving the way in which for the incumbent candidates to be elected unopposed as per the federation’s Constitution.

Tirkey was elected after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand’s Bhola Nath Singh, who have been within the fray for the president’s submit, withdrew their nominations on Friday.

Bhola Nath has been elected unopposed as secretary basic.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has authorised Tirkey and his workforce’s appointments.

In a letter, the FIH mentioned that when the variety of contesting candidates for any submit is the same as or lower than the variety of posts, they shall be deemed to have been elected unopposed as per election by-laws on the Hockey India web site.

“Therefore, we are pleased to observe that the Executive Board of Hockey India stands elected as has been put on the website of Hockey India and that the posts election was unanimous for all posts,” it mentioned.

The sport’s governing physique appreciated the efforts of the three-member Committee of Administrators (CoA), which included Justice Anil R Dave, SY Quraishi and Zafar Iqbal, for easily conducting the election course of.

“We are delighted that the election process has been completed and a democratic body is now in place. We extend our congratulations to Dr Dilip Tirkey, Bhola Nath Singh and Sekar J Manoharan and look forward to working with them closely,” it added.

Tirkey took to twitter to thank the CoA and FIH and mentioned he’ll work in direction of taking Indian hockey to the following stage.

“I will ensure that Indian hockey reaches to new heights,” he tweeted.

Bhola Nath mentioned he determined to withdraw his nomination for the president’s submit to allow an awesome participant like Tirkey to take up the reigns.

“I withdrew after due consultation with Dilip Tirkey. He is a legend and we have decided to work jointly for the good of Indian hockey. Our aim is to see India win the Olympic gold again,” Bhola Nath instructed PTI.

“We will also work towards the development of the game at the grassroot level and make domestic hockey stronger.”

The different non-contested members of Hockey India are Asima Ali (vice president) of Hockey Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka’s SVS Subramanya Gupta (vice president), Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu’s Sekar J Manoharan (treasurer), Hockey Rajasthan’s Arti Singh (joint secretary) and Hockey Haryana’s Sunil Malik (joint secretary).

The 5 govt board members are Arun Kumar Sarswat (Hockey Rajasthan), Asrita Lakra (Hockey Jharkhand), Gurpreet Kaur (Delhi Hockey), V Sunil Kumar (Kerala Hockey) and Tapan Kumar Das (Assam Hockey).

(Only the headline and movie of this report might have been reworked by the Business Standard workers; the remainder of the content material is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button