Women’s World Cup prize money to match men’s by 2027 tournament, says FIFA | Football News


Gianni Infantino has introduced FIFA’s intention for equal prize money by the 2027 Women’s World Cup.

The money would match the 2026 men’s World Cup by then, FIFA’s president has introduced.

Women’s World Cup prize money is rising to $110m for this 12 months’s event, from $30m in 2019.

There may even be an extra $40m for workforce preparation money and for golf equipment who launch gamers.

At the men’s World Cup final 12 months in Qatar the prize money on provide totalled $440m.

Earlier, Sky News reported FIFA was engaged on improved pay and situations for gamers on the Women’s World Cup.

A deal has been labored on across the FIFA Congress which is going down in Kigali, Rwanda.

Concerns have been raised by gamers about prize money disparities forward of the event in Australia and New Zealand later this 12 months.

While the prize pool for the men’s World Cup in Qatar final 12 months was $440m (£365m+), the money to be break up between groups is $60m (virtually £50m) on the girls’s event.

The Women’s World Cup has additionally added groups since France 2019 with 32 slightly than 24 finalists – together with European champions England.

Female gamers have lobbied their international union FIFPRO to push FIFA for equal pay.

FIFA’s money reserves have grown to $4bn.

Infantino has been re-elected as FIFA president for one more four-year time period on the governing physique’s congress of 211 member associations. He was first elected president in 2016.

2026 Men’s World Cup: 48 groups, 104 matches

FIFA authorized plans on Tuesday for the biggest-ever men’s World Cup in 2026.

At a gathering of the FIFA Council in Kigali, Rwanda, it will likely be confirmed that there shall be 104 video games in 2026 as an alternative of the 64 video games which have been performed in Qatar final 12 months.

The additional 40 video games are wanted as a result of the event is increasing from 32 to 48 groups.

The 2026 event within the United States, Mexico and Canada could have 12 teams of 4 groups. The prime two groups will advance to a spherical of 32 with the eight finest third-placed groups.


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button